Let’s Talk About Mascara

I currently have 3 mascaras in my makeup set.

1. Maybelline New York Pulse Perfection Vibrating Mascara- this thickens and lengthens my peepers the more. With this, you no longer have to wiggle the wand at the base of your lashes up until the tips to achieve the desired effect.  The mascara does it for you, all you need is a steady hand. What I don’t like is sometimes it clumps. But isn’t that a problem with almost all thickening mascaras with big wands? To solve this problem, you just have to wipe the mascara wand on tissue (in my case, at the mouth of tube) to remove flakes.

Maybelline New York Pulse Perfection Vibrating Mascara

Please, ignore the overweight face. Taken during my sister’s debut last March. You can see my eyelashes practically sticking out. I used  Maybelline’s Pulse Perfection Vibrating Mascara on this look. As for the lower lashline smudge, that has always been my problem. It isn’t a case of eyeliner smudge my dear but mascara stains from my lower lashes. Did you get it or do I have to explain that my lashes are well, generous when it comes to length and sometimes it cause troubles? No? OK.

2. Victoria Jackson mascara (part in the Victoria’s Essential Survival Kit)- for travelling purposes. This occupies a very small portion in my pouch so it’s perfect for travelling or if you don’t want to carry long and large tubes whenever you’re out and about simply because it eats space in your makeup bag. Aside from its convenient size, there is nothing to be thrilled about this product. It doesn’t deliver great results not until you repeatedly swipe the wand for about 3-4 times at your lashes. What I like in this product is that it is small enough to reach my lower lashes, which is quite hard to achieve with my other 2 mascaras.

3. Nichido Mascara in Black – for fun, short-lived photo shoots. Not that I’m stingy but do you really have to use drugstore/high-end mascaras for transient photo shoots? I don’t. A typical shoot would generally last for 2-3 hours (maximum of 5, more than 1 look) and chances are, there will be makeup changes involved. Also, most of the time, if not all, models would wear falsies, a lot of them in fact. The only contribution of mascara in this section is to make the lashes join with the falsies so it would not look so fake. This is a good mascara by the way, just too clumpy for my personal taste. So you know what to do when you have this, mmmkay?

Oh wait, there’s a fourth one Nichido Mascara in Clear but I use it to keep my browse in place.

By September, 2 will be joining my mascara farm. Presenting my coming new babies.

DiorShow Mascara in Black

I have heard and read so much about this product. Celebrity makeup artists, beauty editors, consider this as the ultimate mascara icon of all time. Despite the lack of personal tryout,  I believe the feedbacks and strings of great reviews are enough for me to join the bandwagon. Expensive, yes. But is it worth it? I think so. I have high hopes for this sweetie.

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara

From leeheardawho.blogspot.com

I was 14 when I first saw this mascara, part of my auntie’s makeup kit. I remember being happy with the results when I tried it on; it was as if some magical force caused my eyelashes to double its number and size. I still look myself. only with wider, better eyes. From then on, I swore to myself I’d have my own tube when I grow up, financially able to spend on makeup. What I didn’t know that time, only to find out later, is that that mascara is America’s Best Inexpensive Mascara, the best selling drugstore mascara of all time, coveted this and that awards. What more could you ask for this mascara? It’s cheap, waterproof (perfect for weddings, don’t you think?) and it works, big time.

I’m pretty excited that I’m finally getting my hands on these cult favorites. I’ll write proper reviews about them, I promise.

Some says that if there’s one beauty product they can’t live without, it’s mascara. In my case, I can live without a mascara if given the option because I am blessed with good genes of having thick lashes. But a mascara  enhances further what your parents endowed you. A little help goes a long, long way. Ask around, maybe 3 out 5 will respond that what they notice first are the eyes. I do. And as the English proverb goes, “the eyes are the window of the soul.” 

5 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Mascara

  1. I love mascara, and I never leave home without it. My favorite is Revlon Voluminous Extra Volume mascara. Every time I wear it, people would ask me if I’m wearing false eyelashes….hehehe! Try it.

  2. Pingback: Bridal Make Up Must Haves « Makeup By Meloi

Leave a Reply

